Lionel Messi

FIFA 2019 Award: Lionel Messi wins Best FIFA Men’s Player AWARD, winners list


Popular footballer Lionel Messi was very excited to win the Best FIFA Men’s Player award, but the current world best player is focused on helping his club Barcelona responds to the La Liga season.

The award was won by Lionel Messi for the first time after its rebrand in 2016, the Argentinian wizard beat the Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk.

Since Messi won his fifth Ballon d’Or in 2015, the 32-year old was glad to win the award and he believes his club is ready to bounce back.

Messi told reporters that: “It has been a long time without winning an individual prize. It is an award that I have for the first time and it is good to have it.”

Messi is still trying to bounce back after the injury he sustained at training before the beginning of the 2019-2020 has just appeared twice for Barca in the Champions league and La Liga since he returned from his injury.

Also read: UEFA Champions League Results

At the same time Barcelona have not done well since the beginning of the 2019 La Liga season, having just seven points from five games.

Messi said: “We’ve started badly and are struggling to create play and chances. It’s just the start, but we have to respond now, there’s no more time and we have to improve a lot, we’re aware of this. It’s a team thing.”

Winners List

Men’s Best 11

Goalkeeper: Alisson Bekker (Liverpool)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax now Real Madrid), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Mid-Fielders: Frenkie de Jong (then Ajax, now Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Eden Hazard (then Chelsea, now Real Madrid)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Kylian Mbappé (PSG)

Ronaldo and Messi have been named to every world 11 since 2007 and this was the 13th the duo would be named in the best 11.

Women’s Best 11

Goal keepers: Sari van Veendaal (then Arsenal now Atletico)

Defenders: Lucy Bronze (Olympique Lyonnais), Nilla Fischer (then VfL Wolfsburg now Linkopings), Kelly O’Hara (Utah Royals), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais)

Mid-fielders: Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), Amandine Henry (Olympique Lyonnais), Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit)

Forwards: Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC), Marta (Orlando Pride)

Best Fifa Men’s Player: Lionel Messi
Best Fifa Women’s Player: Megan Rapinoe
Best Fifa Men’s Coach: Jurgen Klopp
Best Fifa Women’s Coach: Jill Ellis
Fifa Puskas Award: Daniel Zsori

Best Fifa Men’s Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker
Best Fifa Women’s Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal
Fifa Fan Award: Silvia Grecco

Leave a Reply